Thursday, December 31, 2009

"Wolf Pig"

digital. pencil underdrawing by Peaches McGee.

A colleague drew this cute little pencil sketch. I colored it to be used as an assignment example in Concpetual Drawing class.

Tuesday, December 29, 2009


~7"x10". green ink.

Monday, December 28, 2009


~9"x9". sepia ink.

Saturday, December 19, 2009

"The Origins of Wednesday"

pencil, then digital (Illustrator).

Poster design for friends of mine as a Christmas present.

Odin imagery from Norse mythology.

Thursday, December 17, 2009



Made for the Italian online card game thing.
Final image won't be viewed any larger than the preview above.

As you can see in the pencil drawing, I forgot the blindfold, oops!

Friday, December 11, 2009

"Ars Gratis Ars"

~8.5"x11". gouache, mixed media.

Made for commission.

Tuesday, December 8, 2009

"Justice" (WIPs)

Two early concept sketches to show to client.

This is for another card in the online game I'm working on.
I was told to show "Justice" as some sort of knight in shiny armor.
These two I made quickly. When I get some client feedback, I'll
redraw it with more definition.

I've mentioned in other posts that these images are only going to
exist digitally in the game and will be about the size of the preview
images above. So the overall silhouette matters more than precision

Monday, December 7, 2009

"Vicarial Grace & Good Fellowship" and "Vicarial Spade & Pail"

~7.5" x 11". ink.
~5" x 11". ink.

"The Vicar's Fool"

~5" x 9". pencil.


8.5" x 11". gouache, mixed media.

Commissioned image made using the painted printout technique I used earlier for the Venger painting.

Below are the process steps: the pencil drawing and the digital rough that I printed.

I've developed this thing for cloud forms recently.

Friday, November 20, 2009


12"x16" gouache.

This was made as a test for a technique I want to get better at, as it will help me work more efficiently:

  • Initial pencil drawing on chipboard. Scanned in at high resolution.
  • Simply blocked in colors digitally with photoshop, preserved chipboard texture.
  • Printed out laser color copy and affixed to wood with lots of clear acrylic medium.
  • Finished the painting with gouache.

    Digitally I only worried about the mid-range to darks, and I saved the mid-range to highlights for actual paint, since that tends to be about detail work anyway.

    After the digital stage, the image is still flexible enough to be changed and incorporate client feedback. When that's good, I can then use that as the underwork for the painted finish.
  • Tuesday, November 10, 2009



    Commissioned image.

    Monday, November 9, 2009


    8.5" x 11". gouache.

    Commissioned image. Here's the underdrawing:

    Friday, October 16, 2009

    "Tufted Titmouse" (detail)

    21.5" x 6". gouache.

    The above is a cropped detail of the actual piece which is
    painted onto an irregularly shaped piece of wood.

    Here's the full image:



    Commissioned image of a two color design to be constructed
    and used as a chest decoration for costuming.

    Monday, October 5, 2009



    Illustration for online "card" game.

    Final image will be viewed at about half this size on-screen.

    Yay, finally got the my new video card in and up and running and so on and so forth :)

    Sunday, September 13, 2009


    8.5" x 11". gouache, pencil, over collage.

    Pet portrait, commissioned image.

    Thursday, September 10, 2009

    "Summon Sphinx" and some sketchwork


    Illustration for online "card" game.

    Final image will be about half this size on-screen.

    Incidentally, here are some pencil sketches for this image and a previous one.

    Friday, September 4, 2009

    "Chainsword" and "Amulet of Life"


    Illustrations for online "card" game.

    Final images will be half this size on-screen.

    Thursday, September 3, 2009

    "Hollander's Corner"


    Commissioned image.

    Tuesday, September 1, 2009


    8.5" x 11". gouache, pencil.

    Commissioned image.

    Sunday, August 30, 2009



    Logo design stuff for client.

    Thursday, August 27, 2009


    (face detail)

    ~24" x 24". gouache, pencil, over collage.

    Commissioned portrait.

    Wednesday, August 26, 2009


    Preview pixelated for gore.

    8.5" x 11". gouache.

    Commissioned image.

    "Day's End"

    8.5" x 11". gouache, pencil.

    Commissioned image.

    Tuesday, August 11, 2009

    "Unseeing Bloodhound"

    12" x 16". gouache, pencil, over collage.

    Commissioned image.

    Thursday, August 6, 2009

    "Murphy Z"

    ~9" x 11". gouache, pencil.

    Commissioned image for a buff platypus tooth fairy, in a kilt, with a large dragon fang.

    Wednesday, August 5, 2009


    8.5" x 11". gouache, pencil.

    Commissioned image for a musk ox cop.

    Sunday, August 2, 2009


    11" x 8.5". gouache, pencil.

    Commissioned image.

    Saturday, August 1, 2009



    Commissioned image.
    Full-sized version viewable here.

    I would love to illustrate a book in this style. And will very likely draw
    these characters more traditionally, later.

    Thursday, July 30, 2009


    8.5" x 11". gouache, pencil.

    Lucked into a bunch of small commissions. Here's one.

    Monday, July 6, 2009

    "Blue Jays"

    8.5" x 19". gouache, pencil.

    A depiction of the blue jays tattooed on my girlfriend's chest as actual birds.

    You can see them in this earlier portrait here.

    Some work-in-proccess photos:

    Tuesday, June 30, 2009

    "Joshua 2"

    14" x 16". gouache, pencil.

    About two hours total, with about a week of looking at it between each hour.

    Compared to the work-in-progress, you might can see that it was mostly a matter of developing the ear and nose further, as well as refining the modelling in the cheek.

    Saturday, June 20, 2009

    "Lee Mary"

    13.5" x 19.5". gouache, pencil.